Banana Cupcakes with Brown Butter Frosting

We all have these days.  Yesterday, everything was perfect.  Today, not so much.  I’m talking about bananas.  They can go from perfectly ripe with a pure yellow peel and then suddenly, before you know it, they are brown and you know the kids will never eat them now!  (Lets face it, I won’t eat a brown banana either!) .

I had one of those days today.  I came home and saw the 3 bananas on the counter that were just starting to turn yesterday and I knew I had to do something with them NOW!  Otherwise, they were headed to the trash.

So what else is there to do but bake up some cupcakes??

_DSC6173.JPG

Another reason to bake up a treat was because my oldest, who loves banana bread, is not feeling well today.  Home baked goodies are ALWAYS a good idea. And another reason?  My daughter is home from college – she’ll love a home baked treat!  And another?  My youngest got to take some fresh made scones to school yesterday (for extra credit!) but they were eaten quickly.  So he needs something to nibble on!

SONY DSC
Just look at that crumb.  Enough banana to keep them moist but not too dense.  Heaven!

Alright, alright.  I’ll be honest.  I don’t really need a reason to bake.  But all of these things just added up and I didn’t want to just bake up my often made, much loved banana bread again.  So I mixed up some soft and fluffy banana cupcakes.  My fist thought to top these beauties was maybe a Peanut Butter Buttercream but I have really been wanted to make a Browned Butter Buttercream.  Not exactly the expected choice, I don’t think, on a banana cupcake but is a perfect companion!  The nuttiness and richness of the brown butter with the soft, sweet banana cake…oh, why do the most delicious things require so much restraint??  I will have ONE of these tonight…only one.  Wait, they will most definitely be gone by the time I get home from work tomorrow, so maybe I should go for two tonight, just in case!

SONY DSC
Amazingly moist but fluffy Banana Cupcakes with Brown Butter Frosting (my new obsession!)

 

Banana Cupcakes (Makes 22-24 cupcakes)

  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, at room temp
  • 2 eggs, at room temp
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup very ripe banana (about 2 medium), mashed
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  1. Preheat oven to 350° F and place cupcake liners in a muffin tin. (Or prepare your pans by spraying with cooking spray and lining with parchment paper.)
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, cream together both sugars and the butter for about 2 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time and mix until incorporated.  Add the vanilla, banana and buttermilk until incorporated, about 2 minutes, stopping the mixer to scrape the sides of the bowl several times.
  3. Add flour, cinnamon, baking powder salt and baking powder to a bowl and mix together with a whisk.
  4. With the stand mixer on low speed, add the flour mixture to the butter mixture just until combined. (Don’t over mix!)
  5. Fill each muffin cup about 2/3 full – I either use an ice cream scoop or a metal 1/4 cup measuring cup.  They are both just about the perfect amount! (If you are making a layer cake, divide the batter evenly between 2 9″ round pans.)
  6. Bake for 19 to 21 minutes or until toothpick inserted into one of the center cupcakes comes out clean.  Allow to cool in the pan for a few minutes and then move to a wire rack.  Allow to cool completely before frosting. If making a layer cake, bake for about 28 – 30 minutes or until a toothpick or cake tester comes out clean.  Ovens are different so keep an eye on it!)

Now you can be creative and use whatever icing or frosting you choose here but I think that the nuttiness of a Browned Butter Buttercream goes perfectly with the banana!  My kids don’t like ‘crunchy’ bits in their cake or bread so this is the perfect way to get the flavor in there without the crunch!

Brown Butter Frosting recipe can be found HERE!

SONY DSC
Deliciousness in a cupcake wrapper!

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. joyandtea says:

    Looks delicious! Gotta love bananas! 😍🍴

    Like

Leave a Reply

