Two Hour Cinnamon Rolls

My ‘To be baked’ board on pinterest is chock full of recipes that I want to get around to baking and customizing.  Thanks to my oldest sons ‘love of all things cinnamon’, I have pinned recipes for cinnamon coffee cakes, cookies, breads and, yes, a few classic cinnamon rolls. His favorite food of all time is probably cinnamon rolls but they are time consuming to make so I rarely get around to them.  I figured that it was finally time to come up with a recipe to get fresh cinnamon rolls from scratch done in less than 2 hours.  Now two hours sounds like a long time but to mix, rise, roll, rise again and bake 3 to 4 dozen cinnamon rolls, two hours seems like a miracle to me!

Since I am not much of a sleeper, I tend to get into the kitchen early.  This morning I was up at 2 am (crazy, I know!) and realized by 3 am that there was no chance of going back to sleep.  Tossing and turning just frustrates me so I got up to be productive! My cinnamon roll loving son will be 21 years old tomorrow.  Wait..I can’t be old enough to have a kid old enough to buy his own beer!  Let’s just keep that bit of info our little secret.

My first attempt at quick cinnamon rolls was OK but I didn’t get those ooey-gooey, buttery sticky cinnamon rolls that I love and was wishing for.  So I made it again and amped up the butter, sugar and cinnamon content in the filling.  Low carb, low calorie they are NOT!!  But I think I got just right mix of dough to filling.

I love this dough.  It is easy to work with, soft with just a touch of sweetness in it. The only problem that I have is not really a problem but it makes a LOT of dough.  The bowl for my stand mixer is not big enough for this dough recipe so I use my favorite HUGE mixing bowl and hold it and constantly rotate it by hand during the 10 minute mixing portion of the recipe.

Two Hour Cinnamon Rolls (make about 32 -38 rolls)

To make the dough:
Mix on low speed in bowl of your stand mixer and let sit for 15 minutes:
3 1/2 c. warm water
1 c. sugar
1/2 c. oil
4 1/2 Tbsp Instant yeast (6 tbsp. if using active dry)

Then add:
1 T. salt
3 eggs, beaten lightly
10 1/2 c. flour

Mix together for 10 minutes with the dough hook, than let it sit for 10 minutes in the bowl. Flour your countertop and dump out the dough. Divide it in half and press one half out into a rectangle.  You can use a rolling pin if you like but I like to just use my hands.

Cinnamon-Sugar Mixture
2 c. sugar
4 T. cinnamon
2 tsp nutmeg

Mix together and set aside.

About 1 cup Butter (1/2 cup for each rolled out piece of dough).

Spread first piece of dough with 1/2 cup melted butter and then with half of the cinnamon-sugar mixture. Roll up along the long edge. Divide into 12-16 rolls and place in greased or parchment paper lined pans. Repeat with other half of dough. I end up using the one 11×15 pan that I have plus 3 9×13 pans!  Let rise until desired size (about 30 minutes for me). Bake for 12-15 minutes at 400 degrees.

SONY DSC
Beautiful rising dough! 2 hour cinnamon rolls

_DSC6177 lo.jpg

While your cinnamon rolls are cooling, make the icing:
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 milk
1 tsp vanilla
3 3/4 to 4 cups icing sugar (powdered sugar)

Melt butter in a small sauce pan and stir in brown sugar until smooth and mixed.  Remove from heat and stir in milk and vanilla. Using stand mixer on low speed, mix in icing sugar until smooth.  Spread over cinnamon rolls once they are mostly cool.  I like to smother the cinnamon rolls with the icing while they are still a bit warm so the icing melts into some of the crevices a bit.  Oh, my oh my!  These are perfect!

Unfortunately, I forgot to take photos throughout the entire process and then a pretty one of the finished product but I will make them again very soon and post them here!  There are a couple of rolls left in the last pan so I snapped a peak for you…

_DSC6180.JPG

Enjoy!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. bexiestbex says:

    Great recipe! I’ve been meaning to try these for so long!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    1. Tanya says:

      Enjoy them! This makes A LOT of cinnamon rolls but they don’t seem to last very long!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

